News at SoundtrackCollector
Cold Case composer Michael Levine accepts ASCAP Award
13-Apr-2006 - Honor recognizes achievement in series television.
The American Society of Composers and Publishers presented a prestigious Top Television Series award to composer Michael Levine at the 21st Annual ASCAP Film and Television Awards gala on April 11 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, recognizing his contributions to the hit CBS series Cold Case. The award honors ASCAP composers who have written the themes and underscore for the highest rated series during the period of January 1 - December 31, 2005.

Born in Tokyo, Michael was raised in the Midwest and schooled in Canada (McGill Univ.), Wisconsin (UW), and Boston (Berklee College of Music). He moved to New York City where his first job was playing violin on the streets. In the early 80s he founded the legendary No Guitars, one of the first bands to have a video on the just-launched MTV.

Winner of two Clio Awards for his work in advertising, Michael's ground-breaking combination of high-tech sound design with music became his calling card. His music for the first of his two Clio Awards, the Mitsubishi Eclipse campaign, combined Japanese flute, an operatic soprano, world percussion, and electronically processed animal noises. His best-known ads are his jingles "Wacky Wild Kool-Aid Style," "Motts and Motts of Motts," and, most infamously, "Give me a Break" for Kit Kat, which is widely considered to be one of the most effective "earworms," a term used to describe a bit of music that you can't get out of your head, whether you want to or not. American Idol champ Carrie Underwood sang it on this year's campaign.

As the world's largest performing rights organization, ASCAP has over 200,000 composer, lyricist and music publisher members representing all genres of music. ASCAP is committed to protecting the rights of its members by licensing and collecting royalties for the public performance of their copyrighted works, and then distributing these fees to the Society's members based on performances. ASCAP's Board of Directors is made up solely of writers and publishers, elected by the membership every two years.

All News Items 
New Site Features