News at SoundtrackCollector
IFMCA announces its 2010 nominees for scoring excellence
12-Feb-2011 -

Alexandre Desplat receives 7 International Film Music Critics' 2010
award nominations, including two for Film Score Of The Year
The International Film Music Critics Association announces its list of nominations for excellence
in musical scoring in 2010, with French composer Alexandre Desplat leading the field with
7 nods including THE KING’S SPEECH (3 nominations) and THE GHOST WRITER (4 nominations)
for Film Score of the Year. Also nominated in this category are John Powell’s HOW TO TRAIN
YOUR DRAGON (5 nominations), Daft Punk’s score to TRON: LEGACY (3 nominations) and
Hans Zimmer’s INCEPTION (3 nominations).
Desplat, who also wrote the nominated score to HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS
PART 1, is short-listed for Composer of the Year along with John Powell (HOW TO TRAIN YOUR
Danny Elfman (ALICE IN WONDERLAND) and Hans Zimmer (INCEPTION).

Breakout Composer of the Year nominees include Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and
Thomas Bangalter, better known as the French electronic/dance duo Daft Punk, for
TRON: LEGACY; Spanish composer Oscar Araujo for the video game CASTLEVANIA: LORDS OF
SHADOW; Spanish composer Arnau Bataller for the mystery film LA HERENCIA VALDEMAR;
German composer Herbert Grönemeyer for the George Clooney drama THE AMERICAN;
and Portuguese composer Nuno Malo for AMÁLIA, about Portuguese fado singer
Amália Rodrigues.

New this year is Best Archival Release category, which combines previous categories that
celebrated the current renaissance of older movie scores being released either for the
first time, as a re-release or as a re-recording. With so many worthy choices, the new
category has been expanded to 10 nominees, which this year includes the 6-disc,
premiere release of Alex North’s score to Stanley Kubrick’s SPARTACUS, two never-released
John Williams scores (BLACK SUNDAY and FAMILY PLOT) and re-recordings of scores as
diverse as Dimitri Tiomkin’s THE ALAMO and Basil Poledouris’ CONAN THE BARBARIAN
among other impressive releases.
For the whole list of nominees, go to the International Film Music Critics website.
They will announce the winners of its Seventh Annual Awards on February 25, 2011.

All News Items 
New Site Features